Crescent Kashmir

Australia edge past Sri Lanka to clinch T20 series

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

COLOMBO: Australia made heavy weather of a modest chase before beating Sri Lanka by three wickets in the second Twenty20 International on Wednesday to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

Chasing 125, world champions Australia struggled against Wanindu Hasaranga’s (4-33) spin before Matthew Wade’s run-a-ball 26 not out secured a tense victory with 13 balls to spare.

Put into bat, Sri Lanka struggled to get going and rode cameos from Charith Asalanka (39) and Kusal Mendis (36) to post a below-par 124-9, barely avoiding being bowled out inside 20 overs.

Australia’s ploy to open their attack with Glenn Maxwell (2-18) paid off with the off-spinner dismissing opener Danushka Gunathilaka in the first over.

Australia were without fast bowler Mitchell Starc who slit the index finger of his bowling hand on his shoe spike during the tourists’ 10-wicket win in Tuesday’s series opener.

His replacement Jhye Richardson (3-26) ensured Australia did not feel Starc’s absence and Kane Richardson claimed 4-30 to restrict Sri Lanka.

For Australia, captain Aaron Finch (24) began well but Hasaranga rocked their top order and David Warner (21) was run out after a mix-up with Maxwell as their chase threatened to unravel.

Hasaranga dismissed Maxwell and Ashton Agar in successive deliveries but Wade calmed Australian nerves and secured victory with a four off Gunathilaka.

The teams move to Pallekele for the final Twenty20, which will be followed by five one-dayers and two Test matches.



P. Nissanka c Marsh b J. Richardson 3

D. Gunathilaka c Marsh b Maxwell 4

C. Asalanka c Finch b Maxwell 39

K. Mendis hit wicket b J. Richardson 36

B. Rajapaksa c Hazlewood b K. Richardson 13

D. Shanaka c Finch b K. Richardson 14

W. Hasaranga c Warner b J. Richardson 12

C. Karunaratne c Agar b K. Richardson 0

D. Chameera c Agar b K. Richardson 0

M. Theekshana not out 1

N. Thushara not out 2


TOTAL (for nine wickets, 20 overs) 124-9

FALL OF WICKETS: 1-5 (Gunathilaka), 2-7 (Nissanka), 3-73 (Asalanka), 4-90 (Mendis), 5-101 (Rajapaksa), 6-121 (De Silva), 7-121 (Shanaka), 8-121 (Chameera), 9-121 (Karunaratne).

BOWLING: Maxwell 3-0-18-2, Hazlewood 4-1-16-0, J. Richardson 4-0-26-3,

K. Richardson 4-0-30- 4, Agar 4-0-27-0, Marsh 1-0-7-0.


Aaron Finch c Gunathilaka b Hasaranga 24

David Warner run out (Nissanka) 21

Mitchell Marsh lbw b Hasaranga 11

Steven Smith lbw b Thushara 5

Glenn Maxwell c Gunathilaka b Hasaranga 19

Marcus Stoinis c Asalanka b Chameera 9

Matthew Wade not out 26

Ashton Agar b Hasaranga 0

Jhye Richardson not out 9

EXTRAS (W-2) 2

TOTAL (for seven wickets, 17.5 overs) 126

FALL OF WICKETS: 1-33 (Finch), 2-53 (Marsh), 3-58 (Smith), 4-64 (Warner), 5-80 (Stoinis), 6-99 (Maxwell), 7-99 (Agar).

DID NOT BAT: Kane Richardson, Josh Hazlewood.

BOWLING: Theekshana 4-0-29-0 (1w), Chameera 4-0-31-1 (1w), Hasaranga

4-0-33-4, Thushara 2-0-18-1, Asalanka

3-0-7-0, Gunathilaka 0.5-0-8-0.

Published in Dawn, June 9th, 2022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *